Certify Dependents for Benefits Coverage
The table below lists the documentation needed to certify your dependents' eligibility for benefits.
When you add a dependent to your benefits, that election is incomplete until the required certification documents are received.
You have 31 days from your hire date or Qualifying Life Event to upload, fax or mail dependent certification documentation to Stanford Benefits. If Stanford Benefits does not receive the required dependent documentation within 31 days, your dependent will not be covered.
Certifying dependents during Open Enrollment: You have until Jan. 31 in the new plan year to provide certification documents.
Upload your documentation by logging in to My Benefits and use the Upload Documents tool.
P.O. Box 3190
Bellaire, TX 77402
Certify Your Dependents for Benefits Coverage
|DEPENDENT'S RELATIONSHIP TO YOU
|Spouse, same or opposite sex (unless legally separated)
|Registered domestic partner
|State or municipal Declaration of Domestic Partnership
|Most recent state (joint) tax return
|State of California website (for California registered domestic partners)
|Common Law spouse
|Most recent state or federal (joint) tax return
|Children up to age 26
|Stepchild(ren) up to age 26
|Birth certificate and marriage certificate
|Adopted child(ren) up to age 26
|Child(ren) up to age 26 for whom you are a legal guardian (cannot be a sibling of the employee)
|Child(ren) up to age 26 of your registered domestic partner, who depend on your support and lives with you in a parent/child relationship
|State or municipal Declaration of Domestic Partnership Certificate and birth certificate
|Adopted child(ren) up to age 26 of your registered domestic partner, who depend on your support and live with you in a parent/child relationship
|Children up to age 26 for whom your registered domestic partner is the legal guardian (cannot be a sibling of the domestic partner)
|Child(ren) up to age 26 for whom the court has issued a Qualified Medical Child Support Order (QMCSO)
|Qualified Child Support Order (QMCSO)
|Unmarried children age 26 or over if dependent on your for primary financial support and maintenance due to a physical or mental disability, incapable of self-support and disability existed before age 19
Note: This audit verifies only dependent eligibility. Your medical carrier determines the child's disability status.
|Most recent state or federal tax return